Your Guide on Getting a New License, Registering Your Car and More!
You'll Need an Inspection Sticker in This State!
Before operating a vehicle in Virginia, you will to pass an annual safety inspection and display it on your front windshield. Want to press your luck and not get one? Expect a hefty fine.
I recommend Colonial Service Center located at 803 Merrimac Trail. Schedule yours today: (757) 229-3108
Meet Virginia's Vehicle Insurance Requirements!
From the moment you register your vehicle to the day the registration period expires, you must insure your vehicle with a liability policy issued by an licensed insurance company able to do business in Virginia--- EVEN IF the vehicle is not working or being used.
Virginia Law requires the following minimum insurance coverage for all registered vehicles.
- $25,000 for bodily injury or death of one person;
- $50,000 for bodily injury or death of two or more people;
- $20,000 for property damage.
Now Go to the DMV Office located at:
920 Capitol Landing Road
Williamsburg, VA 23185
Monday- Friday- 9-5
Apply for a Virginia Driver's License:
Register your vehicle in Virginia and obtain your license plates. You must first title your vehicle within 30 days of moving to Virginia.
Register Your Vehicle and Acquire License Plates
After you have insured and titles your vehicle you need to register it at any Virginia DMV customer service center within 30 days of moving to Virginia.
Your registration fee is determined by:
- The empty weight or gross weight of your vehicle.
- The type of license plate you purchase (see fun license plates-Virginia is the #1 state for personalized license plates in the US)
- The period of time, one or two years, you choose to register your vehicle.
A two year registration costs twice the annual fee but it adds convenience for customers. The two year renewal option is not available for vehicle with a gross weight of 55,000 pounds or more, vehicles registered under the International Registration Plan on uninsured vehicles.
As a great courtesy, the DMV will mail renewal reminders to you prior to the expiration date of your registration. You can renew by phone, mail or online!
Keep Registration Card with You When You Operate Vehicle
DMV will issue you two license plates, two decals showing the expiration date and a registration card. Apply the decals indicated on the plates and place the plates on the front and back of your vehicle. If you vehicle is a motorcycle, the DMV will issue only one plate.
Please note, it is illegal to mount license plates frames, colored glass, plastic or any other covering on your license that alters the letters, numbers, decals or the state where the vehicle is registration.
Why not Register to Vote while you are at the DMV?